“Cause the remedy is experience…”

Hello, my darlings! 

I can’t recall if I blogged last week or not.  LOL I think maybe I did. But either way, greetings and salutations! 

This week’s topic is remedies that work or don’t work when we’re sick. Honestly, I don’t have any remedies that I can think of. Bronwyn is great for pulling some sort of sumthin sumthin out of her bag that’s supposed to help with random symptoms. πŸ™‚ I, on the other hand, generally stick to my prescribed meds and OTC stuff.  Those don’t always work because I still don’t have an actual diagnosis for my chronic pain. I’m about 99% sure I have Fibromyalgia, but getting a diagnosis is tricky. 

So when I’m in more pain than usual, I take Aleeve, rest, ice/heat, and whine about it.  If my allergies flare up and my Zyrtec can’t handle it, I pop a Benedryl. I’ve tried massaging my lymph nodes and doing some weird tapping thing to help them drain, and even pressure points to help with anxiety and insomnia. I would love to try acupuncture if I ever get insurance that’ll cover it. Massage is awesome, but expensive, and I worry that if I do have fibro, one day massage is going to hurt too much. My shoulders and neck are typically on fire and full of knots, sometimes the things that people without chronic illness tell me to try works, but most of the time it doesn’t. Sometimes this leads people to assume that those of us with chronic pain are faking it, aren’t open to help, are drug seeking, or just want to complain but that’s not it at all.  It’s that what might help your occasional shoulder pain won’t touch my 24 hour a day shoulder pain because it’s different. Bronwyn gives one hell of a shoulder rub for when my pain is “normal,” btw. 😍

I suppose I do have one remedy but it’s not exactly for being sick, it’s for hiccups.  When you have them, eat a spoonful of peanut butter. That’s it.  Works every time. πŸ™‚ 

And now, because this post is so lame… Memes about chronic/invisible illnesses. πŸ˜ƒ 

   
  

 

Bronwyn | Jess | Kris | Leigh | Jessica | Paige | Gwen  

P.S. I know I owe you guys some more chapters of my Jensen fic. But I need to add a chapter before I can do that and I haven’t had any time to write. Soon, hopefully!! (This is why I never write out of order!!!) πŸ˜‹


5 responses to ““Cause the remedy is experience…”

Leave a comment

The Girl With The Old Lady Bones

Arthritis might slow me down but it will never stop me!

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Dauchshunds and Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Nude XXX pics

My life in black and white.

site

My life in black and white.

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting