Something I’ve Always Want to Write… But Haven’t.

Aside from the Great American Novel, you mean? 🙂

Of course I’d love to write something that becomes majorly famous and is well loved by everyone… but having my small collection of groupies makes me happy too. 😉

There is one topic that I have wanted to write about but just haven’t done yet though.  I really want, at some point, to put my thoughts down about what the term “Cultural Appropriation” means to me as a biracial person.  The term gets thrown around ALLLL the damn time now and although I think some people mean well when they say it, at the same time they have no idea what it means when you’re of two cultures.

Honestly, it’s kind of a slap in the face and kind of an insult to me when I hear people claiming that something is appropriating such and such culture.  Because the way I look at it, if my white friend is supposedly appropriating black culture with her dread locs,  what does that mean about me? I’m both black AND white.  Am I appropriating white culture because I have “good hair?” Or am I appropriating black culture because my hair is curly and kinky?  Is my daily life appropriating black and white culture at all times because I am not just one or the other?  No.  I’m just being me.  But is the way I live a biracial culture?  I don’t think so… I think it’s a human culture.

That’s probably a stupid example… but I feel like the idea of cultural appropriation is stupid.  I feel like people are people and skin color doesn’t give anyone ownership over anything.  There are naturally blonde haired and blue eyed people with brown skin, and there are white people with kinky afros and none of it matters.  Should people be proud of who they are? Absolutely.  But if you like the way cornrows look and want to rock them, fucking do it! It doesn’t matter what color your skin is and you’re not stealing anyone’s culture by doing it.

The reason I haven’t written about this subject, and am not going to go much further right now, is because I know that sharing my views will piss some people off.  People who feel like they’re being warriors by pointing out when they feel like cultural appropriation is happening, people who don’t understand what it’s like to be biracial, and quite possibly half of my family.  Frankly, I’m not ready to be that punching bag.  I’ve seen good meaning biracial folks and biracial supporters try and speak up on this issue and get trashed by people who supposedly know more than them and feel the need to educate them.

Taye Diggs recently made a statement that he does not want his son (who is biracial) to grow up saying that he (the son) is a black man.  He wants his son to say he’s biracial (or mixed) because that’s what he is and calling himself just black would be denying half of his heritage.  I agree.  But the black community attacked Taye and went on and on about how he supposedly isn’t proud of his son’s black side and blah blah fucking blah. *insert extreme eye roll*  I don’t care if his kid grows up to be as dark chocolate as Taye himself, if he’s biracial he should be claiming that.  He’s not just black or just white no matter what he may look like on the surface.   I get pissed when people refer to President Obama as “The First African American President” because guess what?  He’s NOT!  He’s the first BIRACIAL President. Every time someone refers to him as just black or African American, they’re denying half of him.  They’re ignoring that amazing single mom, who happens to be white, who raised an amazing man.  Every time someone asks me to “choose one” on a form when it comes to ethnicity, they’re asking me to only choose half of who I am. It’s bullshit.

So yeah… someday I’ll write it.  Maybe.  🙂  For now though, I just sigh and keep on scrolling when it comes to cultural appropriation. It’s hard sometimes, but better to do that over getting attacked for what I believe, right?

_____

Bronwyn | Paige

3 responses to “Something I’ve Always Want to Write… But Haven’t.

  • Bronwyn

    There needs to be a “love” button for this post. And FWIW, I would very much love to see you write more about this topic. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  • Paige Prince

    I’m with Bronwyn–there needs to be a “love” button for this post. I hate that we have those stupid little checkboxes. I’m white and Native American, but apparently I can only choose one, which is BS. I’m not just one. I’m so tempted to write in another choice: HUMAN.

    I’d totally read more about this topic, too.

    Like

  • Pansy Petal

    A new term for me “cultural appropriation”. I avoid pop culture and “politically correct” bs like the plague! I got slammed one day, by a supposed friend, for saying I was attempting to raise my children to be color blind. The person, unknown to me, (because really I didn’t care) was biracial. I got a lecture about not knowing what I was talking about. Well maybe. My experience wasn’t black and white, it was brown, olive and white, with slanty eyes. (Rather beautiful really.) My husbands parents were German (father) Chinese and Hispanic (mother.) Those too are rather diverse cultures. (I was once asked how I cooked for him. My answer – “Oh that is easy. Sweet and Sour tacos.”) This is America. The melting pot of the world. We all come from differing cultures. So really, why is it a deal at all? Call me a dumb blonde, but I really don’t understand that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

