Why I Write…

 

 

Considering the fact that I haven’t written regularly in ages, I find it hard to sit down and write about why I write.  LOL  I could tell you all of the reasons I’m not writing, but that wouldn’t be so entertaining, eh? :p

I think that for the most part those of us who write all do it for a lot of the same reasons.  It’s fun (usually).  It’s an escape from reality.  It’s a world that we can control (until our characters go all crazy and change the plot on us).  We get to write things the way we wish they were in our lives.  We get to make the rules.  We can craft characters after real people and make them suffer from karma in our stories.   If I’m writing, I’m in control.  I get to decide who falls in love and whose heart gets broken.  I can write about brothers and sisters who get along instead of those who ignore each other.  If I want to write hot kinky morning sex that doesn’t involve morning breath and other real life problems I totally can and it’s okay.  Or if I want my heroine to talk about the sadness of chub rub in her favorite pair of jeans, I can do that too. Then of course there’s the idea that each of us hopes to write the next great American novel, or at least something that sells like Twilight but has much better writing. :p

I also write because I want to touch people.  No, not in a creepy way… LOL  I love when something I write moves someone and makes an impression in their world.  Some of my good friends are people I met simply because they were fans of my fanfic and took the time to reach out and give me feedback.  Sure, sometimes we have to deal with those somewhat annoying stalker-ish fans who don’t seem to have many boundaries… but thankfully those are far and few between.

I think we write for a lot of the same reasons we read. To lose ourselves in something else for a while.  To fall in love with our characters and give us something fun to think about during our real lives.  It’s escapism at it’s best. I love writing and I love the amazing people and experiences that writing has brought into my life.

So… how many days until our writer’s retreat, Bron? 🙂

~~~~~
Bronwyn | Kris | Jessica |Paige | Gwen

 

9 responses to “Why I Write…

  • Bronwyn

    Definitely to lose ourselves in something else for a while. And Also to make things work out the way they “should” instead of the way they often do in real life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kel

      Yes! 🙂 Hehe…

      Also… I miss your faaaaaace! Shawn and I will be in GR for the Nick Concert next month if you still wanna try and do dinner. Then in April I’ll be in GR for 4.5 days for training. They’re expecting me to drive back and forth each day, (HA!) but I’ll probably just get my own hotel room so we’ll have to hang out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  • jessicaldelarosa

    “The sadness of chub rub” I read that at least five times giggling uncontrollably.

    But I love your point of the “Great American Novel” because to me it’s like the lottery ticket phenomenon. You can’t win the lottery if you don’t buy a ticket. As well, you can’t be the write the Great American Novel if you don’t write. Doesn’t necessarily mean the ticket you buy is the winner and the novel you write is going to be a classic. But it’s still fun to play along and take a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  • kris norris

    I love your reasons. YES a thousand times to Karma and exactly revenge in a non-lethal way… trust me. It’s needed. And control. God, how I wish I had as much control in real life. Well done. And get writing, girl. We all want to read more of your book you teased us with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kel

      I knoooow! I feel so bad that it’s been neglected. I still have no idea where it’s going… cause you know, I’m a pantser. But I have been thinking about it! I have a few ideas. Is it June yet?!

      Like

  • Gwen Cease

    I love that you want to touch people, but not in a creepy way. LOL!! And yes, control control control. I love creating people and situations and they often do what I want. Okay, up until the point that they don’t. But until then it’s really fun. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  • Pansy Petal

    You have some amazing reasons for writing. They “touched” me. I think I feel . . . wait a minute . . . is that inspiration? Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

