Wednesday Words – What’s in a name?

Hidey ho, Ranger Joe! πŸ™‚

This week we’re supposed to be writing about how we choose our character’s names and what some of our favorites are.  To be honest though, I’m really pretty lame with names.  I name my characters names that I like. If I don’t like a name or know someone who drives me nuts with that name, I don’t use it. Sometimes if I know I want a name to have a particular meaning I’ll do a reverse search, but most of the time it’s like, “Ooh I love the name Nick…” 

When I was naming Miklos in my Jensen fic I knew for some reason that I wanted him to be Greek, so I searched for Greek names and then looked at their meanings. It turns out that Miklos is actually Hungarian so it shouldn’t have shown up in my Greek search… But here’s a funny one, Miklos is a Hungarian version of the Greek name for name Nicholas. LOL so I inadvertently named him Nick anyway. 

As for favorite character names? Other than Nick? Hehe… Yeah I don’t know. I had a character named Cate, I enjoyed that one because it wasn’t Kate and I have a non-traditional spelling to my name too.  I use names from TV, movies, music, books, restaraunt waitstaff… Basically if I like it, I use it. The hospital in my Jensen fic is named Riley Children’s hospital because of a friend who has that last name, and because after giving Elle the last name Jensen I kept thinking of the character Riley Jensen.  Faith, in my story Double Exposure was named after Faith Hill because I was listening to her when I introduced the character and needed a name. LOL Bobby, the big cuddly black father figure in Shades of Grey was named after an adorable skinny white kid named Bobby who waited on me at Bob Evans the day I wrote the prologue. πŸ™‚  Uncle Phil, in the same story… Totally a Fresh Prince reference.  LOL There really is no method to my madness. I sometimes read the credits of movies and look for cool names too. 

Could this post be more lame? LOL sorry. I agreed to do this week’s topic before realizing how dorky my answer would be. Bet hey, I blogged! LOL

Let’s see how the other girls name their characters, shall we?

Jessica | Bronwyn | Jess

One response to “Wednesday Words – What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

