Writing Rules?

image

Good morning, readers!

This week we’re talking about the rules of writing and how we break those rules. I know we’ve talked about this before and well, you know I’m not a fan of writing rules. Frankly, I think most of The Rules that writers talk about are bullshit.

Several years ago when I first hooked up with this lovely group of ladies, for example, one of the big rules being thrown around was that you simply COULD NOT write in first person and expect to be published/successful. You had to be a prestablished well known bigwig from the who’s who list of authors to simply be allowed to write in first person or split POV.  I can’t tell you how many times published authors told me that. And yet, here we are in 2015 and most, if not all, of the girls in this Wednesday Blogger group who are published have released first person books and had great success with them. I tried SO hard to switch from writing in first to writing in third because I was SUPPOSED to, and although I got a little better at it, I just don’t love it. Writing in third person was a chore instead of fun. I have to write what feels good.  The third person novella I began a few years ago sits stalled while I was able to add ten chapters in a week to the first person one that I started a few months ago.

Another rule I’ve heard as nauseum is that in order to be a writer you have to write every day and if you truly want to write you’ll find the time. Although I agree with that to a degree, anyone who has been saying that doesn’t have my job and my chronic illnesses. Some times no matter how scheduled out my day is I just can’t write. Whether it’s because my day is so full of work crap, my body won’t let me do anything extra, or just because I have other things to do… I can’t always work writing in. I write in my head every day. I think of plots and scenes and dialogue all the time, but sitting down and getting it out doesn’t always work. I used to write every day, and I loved it. My ideas flowed easier and it was great. So I get why people say you should write every day but again, there has to be some grey area in there.

That’s all I can think of. LOL I feel like we just blogged about this and am having major déjà vu.  To be honest, writing has barely been on my radar since the retreat because work exploded all over the place. I wrote contacts into a time sheet for four and a half hours today and I spent an hour and a half writing a termination report, does that count? 😜

Let’s see what everyone else has to say about The Rules. Well, not everyone else… Several of the girls are on book deadlines this week so they couldn’t play along. :). Happy Writing, ladies!

BronwynGwen | Jessica

3 responses to “Writing Rules?

Leave a Reply

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Welcome to the corner of Quirky and Kinky where you'll fall in love every time you open a book.

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

