Wednesday Words: Writing & Life

wordsGood day, blog readers!

This week we’re supposed to be talking about how writing affects our life and vice versa.  This is a Tuffy for me because I haven’t been able to actually do any creative writing in so long.  When I do have the opportunity to write, it definitely gives my life a regular dose of happy. I love when random plot ideas and scenes pop into my head at totally random times.  I love when my characters stalk me and insist that I play with them.  Writing makes me happy.

Then, of course, there are the times like the present, when I’m utterly and totally overwhelmed by life and my sucky job and have no time or energy to write outside of work.  That’s when I can feel the creativity being slowly sucked from my veins and I start to feel like I have no talent and never have.  When my inner critic takes over my head and makes me think all sorts of crappy self-defeating lies.  But in times like these I’ll open up one of my old favorite fanfics and re-read it.  I’ll get lost in my Happy Backstreet World and fall in love all over again with my characters and will even occasionally think to myself, “Man, this actually didn’t suck!”  πŸ™‚  So I start to regain some of my faith in myself and in my writing.  I’ll want to write, and want to go back to the times when I wrote daily and absolutely loved it.  When I’d post chapters to email lists and my old website and I’d get flooded with feedback that made me giggle and kept me writing.  It was a good thing.  Thinking about those days always makes me want to write again.  I’ve been re-reading my old fanic Double Exposure lately and I can already feel those writing muscles starting to fire, slowly but surely. πŸ™‚

As usual though, I have case notes and a report to write for work right now so those come before my fictional friends.  It takes a good five hours to write my two week reports on my clients on top of daily home visits, meetings, case notes, and travel. Some day I’ll have some free time again. πŸ™‚ You can also read this post that talks about my relationship with writing. πŸ™‚

 Now, let’s check out what the other girls have to say about their craft. πŸ™‚

Bronwyn  | Jessica J | Jessica D | Kayleigh | Paige | KrisGwendolyn

17 responses to “Wednesday Words: Writing & Life

Leave a Reply

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Welcome to the corner of Quirky and Kinky where you'll fall in love every time you open a book.

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

