Wednesday Words: Top 5 Writing Distractions

IMG_0705

Squirrel!

Ah, distractions… I have many. šŸ™‚ There’s pretty much always something getting in my way of doing the things I want to do. So much, in fact, that I often wonder who the heck is in charge of my life because it doesn’t seem like it’s me!

When it comes to writing though, my top five writing distractions are:

* Me – Probably the biggest thing that gets in the way of my writing is my own head. I’ll sit down to write and my head will think of ten bazillion reasons why I shouldn’t be writing or why I suck at writing or all of the other things I should be doing instead of writing. Yeah, my head can be a pretty busy place.

* Work – You’ve heard me talk about the woes of my job. On call 24/7, no set schedule, near constant crisis mode, and tons of paperwork. Need I say more?

* Family – It seems like when I finally do have some time to sit and write, one family member or another is needing or wanting my attention. Right now, for example I’m doing an overnight with my monsters and just as I sat down to write this, the youngest monster suddenly wanted to know how many dollars 50,000 pennies would be. šŸ™‚ Now he’s telling me how good his best friend is at Guitar Hero. :p

* Pain/Fatigue – Let’s just say that having chronic pain sucks ass. I can be in the mood to write but my body physically can’t do it. Either my tendonitis is flaring up and my fingers hurt, or I have a migraine, or every joint in my body hurts. Then there’s the fatigue that comes with chronic illness. When I’d like to write but I’m simply all out of energy for the day.

* Moving – Okay, this isn’t a regular occurrence, thank goodness! But this week, it’s getting in the way. This week I have three days of work, then I’m off for a week for moving purposes. So we’re packing and purging and cleaning and planning, oh my! Friday we get the keys to our new place and start moving things over the weekend. So next week when it comes time for my blog post, I’ll be doing it in a whole new place!

And there you have it… five things that get in my way! Have a great week!

Bronwyn | Gwendolyn | Jessica | Kayleigh | Kris

5 responses to “Wednesday Words: Top 5 Writing Distractions

  • Bronwyn

    I’m so excited that you have a shiny new place to live!

    I think a lot of us tend to get in our own way. There’s always twelve million and five other things we “should” be doing or “need” to do. It makes it really hard to sit and do it. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  • jarmanjess

    Oh I can relate to it all, Ms. Kellie. ALL OF THAT! And with all the obligations and tasks and everything, writing gets shoved to the bottom of the list. And that just sucks.

    I’m so excited you’re in your new place. I don’t wish the act of moving on anyone. When we moved, I said I’m dying in this house because I don’t want to do it again. But when it’s a move to a place you love, it makes it worth it. šŸ™‚ (PS I miss your face)

    Liked by 1 person

  • Gwen Cease

    Yay for your new place!! Oh and the answer is $500 because yeah I had to know. Yep, distractions, I totally get it. The only thing I didn’t see on your list is crafting and I know you’re an awesome knitter. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  • Kris Norris

    Hell yeah. If the damn voices in our heads would just help instead of hinder. yeah, that. ALL OF THE TIME. And I moved too this year. I have a feeling it’s going to be an ongoing distraction.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Kayleigh

    Oh the “shoulds.” I have a bad case of those. I never feel as though I should be writing, something else always seems more important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

