Progress

Image

I have to blog today because if I don’t, my goals for my writing group for the month won’t be met.  The problem is that I don’t feel like blogging or writing.  What I want to do is go home and go to bed.  I want to sleep in this most awesome weather that doesn’t have me sweating non stop.  I want to keep the window open so that the cool air can come in my room.  I absolutely love early Fall.  Of course, it’s still summer, but whatever… 🙂

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged.  The novella has grown.  Not by a whole lot, but definitely more than it did in July.  I still loathe writing in third person and have pretty much decided that I’m not forcing myself to use it again any time soon.  I think my problem with third person is that I just don’t feel connected when I’m writing in it.  I like my characters, but I don’t feel like I’m all up in their head like I would be in first person.  For me, writing in first person is like being the character.  I become the person I’m writing and in telling their story feel like I’m telling my story.  I also think that first person just makes sense because it’s what we do every day.  This blog is in first person and every conversation I’ve had all day has been in first person.  It’s what we know… and they always say, “Write what you know.”

But I digress… back to the novella.  It’s a happy little love story about two best friends who love each other but for one reason or another haven’t been able to be together.  That is, until the novella starts and they’re both put into the position of facing their love for each other.  You know, that whole, “I love you but I shouldn’t but I want to but I can’t but I need to…” sort of thing. 🙂  The male lead, Dylan, is a wounded Army vet, and the female lead, Maggie, is a high school art teacher.  I’m more in love with his character at this point than I am her and I often play around with the idea of just rewriting the damn thing from his POV, but I haven’t.  Yet.   He’s just so sexy.  Sexy and strong and funny but also clumsy and not at all perfect.  Or as the Maggie describes him, he’s “A good mixture of muscle and snuggle.”

They’re both a bit of a mess…  but I think that’s at least part of the reason why I like them.

But instead of talking about the novella, perhaps I should actually work on it. Happy weekend!

 
photo credit: TheAlieness GiselaGiardino²³ via photo pin cc

Leave a Reply

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

