Six Sentence Sunday

ImageI’ve mentioned a few times lately how I feel like I’m in a bit of a writing slump.  I only wrote 10,741 words in June and although that’s not a horrible word count, it’s definitely not even close to what I’d like to see at the end of a month.

I did, however, meet all of my writing goals that I set for myself for June.  I finished writing and posting a fanfic that I’d been working on for years and started a new novella that I plan on submitting for publishing when it’s done.  It’ll be my first submission and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t freaking out about it… but I have some pretty awesome published friends around me to keep me going and make sure I don’t give up. 🙂

This new novella is quite a challenge for me because I’m used to writing long drawn out novel length fanfic, so a novella is kind of scary.  It’s also a challenge because for some reason instead of my usual first person I decided to try this one in third person.  I really struggle with third person for some reason. I love writing in first person because I can really get into the head of the main character and it’s like I become the him/her and I’m writing my own story even if it’s not something that I’ve experienced.  It’s not that I don’t like third person, it’s just not what I’m used to, ya know?

Anywho… today is Sunday which in the world of blogging writers means Six Sentence Sunday. So here, is a little sneak at my newest novella in it’s totally new and unedited form.

He’d found out about three weeks ago that he was finally being released from the medical center he’d called home for nearly a year since his accident in Afghanistan.  After countless surgeries and hour upon hour of physical therapy he was finally cleared to go home and as soon as he told Mike, a plan to surprise Maggie had begun.   He’d been doing his best to avoid talking about when he’d be home because he didn’t want to lie to her.  But in just one day all of the secret keeping would be over.  He would drive from his parent’s house up to Crystal, MI where he’d spent every summer of his childhood with Mike and Maggie.  He’d surprise her, and hopefully not piss her off too much, and get the hug he’d been waiting over a year for.

Leave a Reply

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

