Review: The Lightning Thief

The Lightning Thief
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What an adorable book! I bought this because my 9 year old nephew enjoys reading and I thought maybe we could read the series together. I managed to whip through this in just a few sittings and loved it. I love love love the idea that ADHD/Dyslexic kids are demigods! Riordan did a great job creating a whole new world within our normal one that includes all sorts of Greek mythology and yet the mythology wasn’t too much that it took away from the plot or made it confusing. I really think my nephew is going to love this book. But even if he doesn’t, I’m hooked and will be finishing the series.

I’m really glad that I saw the movie before reading this book because had I not, I would have been really ticked. What a missed opportunity! The film was really cute and before reading the book I really liked it… But now that I’ve read the book, the movie is SO different. I have hope though that the second movie will do a better job representing the second book!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

