Review: Gone

Gone
Gone by Lisa McMann
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Finally a third book in a trilogy that didn’t suck! 🙂 I really enjoyed this book although not as much as I liked book #2. The only thing that really bugged me about this one was how after two books Carrie and Janie suddenly spoke to each other in a totally different way using phrases that they hadn’t used in the other books. It was almost like McMann found a few new catch phrases and thought she’d throw them in to seem “cool” but they really didn’t work at all and were more annoying than anything else.

In all, this is a great series. I read the first two books in one night and the third book the next night. Super fast reads and yet they didn’t feel rushed at all which is truly an art. Yeah, yeah the series has adult language but so do most teenagers so I found it to be pretty realistic. I’ve seen a lot of people bitching about how they wouldn’t let a teenager read this because of the language and the situations but I think for older teens it would be fine. Younger teens might struggle with the series but then again so many kids have lived through much worse so this wouldn’t even be a blip on their radar. I give kudos for McMann for writing a series that felt like it was based in reality (well except for the paranormal stuff LOL) instead of a fluffy YA book series that doesn’t feel real at all. Plus she’s from Michigan so she rocks. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

