Dr. King’s Mismatched Socks

I remember a time when aside from my older brother I didn’t know any other biracial people. I remember when kids at school would ask me”What color ARE you?” I remember family members who didn’t want to be a part of our lives simply because my mom and dad’s skin color didn’t “match.” I also remember when the idea of having a biracial President was something that was so far off that I wondered if it would ever happen.

There are still mean, hateful people in the world who won’t have the opportunity to enjoy my snarkiness because my skin isn’t white enough or brown enough for them. But I’d still like to think that in my own special way I’m a living breathing product of Dr. King’s dream. I’m proof that sometimes you don’t WANT your colors to match. Sometimes one bright rainbow sock needs to be paired up with a plain tube sock to make the perfect pair.

We still have a long way to go in achieving The Dream, but I think Dr. King would be proud of the progress we’ve made so far.

Happy Birthday, Dr. King!

3 responses to “Dr. King’s Mismatched Socks

Leave a Reply

The Girl With The Old Lady Bones

Arthritis might slow me down but it will never stop me!

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Welcome to the corner of Quirky and Kinky where you'll fall in love every time you open a book.

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

