Half Way

It’s November 30th which means it’s Day 30 of NaNoWriMo.  I know, my goal this year was to “win” by completing the 50,000 deadline by the end of the month and no longer playing the role of NaNo’s Bitch.  I had big plans of buying myself an overly expensive NaNoWriMo Winner Tee Shirt to proudly wear while doing a happy dance around town.  I had lots of plans.

I struggled finding a plot during Week One, found my plot and then totally changed it in Week Two, and although I was hopelessly behind in my word count, by Week Three I actually thought that I might be able to get caught up.  I’d fallen in love with my characters, they hung out with me at work waiting patiently for me to have the free time to play with them, and even when I didn’t have time to play, my mind was always working on plot lines, dialogue and crafty little nuggets of wisdom.

Then of course all hell broke loose.  My job, which is notorious for being extremely boring and which generally provides me with hours upon hours of time spent twiddling my thumbs, suddenly gave me a boat load of work to do.  Then I spent quite a bit of time sick in bed with migraines, and general yuckiness.  Then when I’d almost finished my Project O’ Doom at work and thought, “Wee!  Time for writing!” my mother got sick and spent two nights in the hospital.  Oh and of course there was the Harry Potter midnight premiere, Thanksgiving, and other family related things.

I struggled through thirty days of writing without letting my ever faithful beta readers see what I was working on or even know what my plot was, which is part of the whole NaNo process.  I’m a girl that needs validation, so writing fifty-two pages of a novel without anyone seeing it but myself was torture, but I survived it.  I fought myself on my incessant need to re-read and edit and “just write” which is another part of the NaNo process as they tell us “it doesn’t have to be good, you just have to reach the goal.”  For the anal-retentive editor in me, this too was torture, but I did it (kind of).

By the time I hit the home stretch, I hoped that I would still be able to make a decent dent in my word count but I knew that I wasn’t going to be a “winner.”  Surprisingly however, I was okay with this.  I was totally cool with not being a NaNo winner because I:

a)      Got more accomplished in NaNo this year than I ever have in years past

b)      Had the beginnings of a story that  I was truly falling in love with

c)       Actually kind of had fun doing it

Therefore I decided that being at the 25,000 word mark, or half way to the goal of NaNo, was my new personal goal.  I figured that half a novel in thirty days is a hell of an accomplishment considering all of the bullshit I’ve had to deal with this month.  So I’m happy to announce that at 10:11 PM on November 30, 2010, I hit 25,000 words exactly and have proudly proclaimed myself a Half Way NaNoWriMo Winner.

Yes, I made the title up myself, but so what… I’m creative, I’m a writer, it’s my job to make shit up.  I may not have conquered NaNo, but I am no longer its bitch. Thankyouverymuch!

P.S. If I add the first version of the plot to the current version, my total word count is 28,960 words, so actually I wrote more than half a novel, just not the same novel. hehe

Leave a Reply

Go-To-For-OT Blog

Sharing and Caring in Pediatric Occupational Therapy

Caffeine, Cuss Words, Dauchshunds, Xanax

and other assorted ramblings

Babbling Brook

The mind wonders. Come along for the trip

Thoughts Off the Top of My Head

My life in black and white.

Writing is Hard

So sayeth the Prophet Chuck

Kris Norris

My life in black and white.

Paige Prince

My life in black and white.

Can You Vague That Up For Me?

Bronwyn Green's Random Thoughts

Tess Grant

Books and Bones

Marj's Musings

.....is this all there is?

Trout Nation

Your One Stop Procrastination Shop

JennieKnits

my life with knitting

