Wednesday Words – Motivation

Sorry once again for being absent for a few weeks. Things in my work life got a little nuts and caused my already stressed out self to struggle even more.

But… This week we’re talking about motivation. As a writer I get asked a lot, “What inspires you?” Honestly, everything inspires me. :) I feel like everywhere I turn there’s inspiration for a new character or scene or plot twist. One of my favorite books that I’ve written started out because of a really sweet waiter at Bob Evans named Bobby. Granted, the skinny little white kid in real life turned into an older black man who owned a diner in Orlando in the book, but it still started with sweet little Bobby. It was also a story about a biracial chick and interracial relationships which of course comes from my own life. :)

Today while working I was in a courthouse. Courthouses are full of crazy things to watch. Lawyers, judges, referees… Sometimes there are people crying or people who smell like drugs and alcohol, and of course there are the people who make you think, “You really chose that to come to court in?!” :)

People-watching, reading, movies, songs, concerts, work, playing with kids, photographs, time with friends… They can all lead to inspiration. :) I want to write ALL the time, I definitely don’t have a lack of motivation or inspiration! What I do have is a jacked up schedule, a job that sucks my soul, and a side of clinical depression that gets in my way.

Friday night I went to see Matt Nathanson and Gavin DeGraw in concert. First of all, Matt is a sexy beast and is one of the best live performers I’ve ever, ever seen…

Second, this…

20140729-230141-82901083.jpg

*squee*

And third… During Gavin’s set he talked about how everyone has something they love to do and they probably don’t do it as much as they’d like. He did this beautiful speech about doing what you love and following your dreams which he basically summed up as this: Do the things you love even if you can’t do it as a career like he does, just do it because it makes you happy.

I love that, and I’m definitely working on it. :)

Check out my girls to see what they have to say about motivation too!

Jenny Trout
Gwendolyn Cease
Kris Norris
Leigh Jones
Jessica Jarman
Bronwyn Green

Finally, if you’re saying to yourself, “Who is Matt Nathanson?” Do yourself a favor and click…


6 responses to “Wednesday Words – Motivation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

